This Year

I look back at the last major post I made on this blog, and think. It has been over a year and a lot has happened online and in the tech community in general. I’ll start with what is powering this very blog.

WordPress has gained an even more massive audience than last time I wrote. The community at large has released a few a versions of this wonderful software. I have attempted to switch over to Movable Type or some other alternate blogging system, but I keep coming back to WordPress. I really don’t know what it is, but whatever it is, I hope they continue on the same path. I look at this from a user’s perspective too. As a programmer, I see a few parts that could use a little overhauling, but most of it is just a matter of taste.

If you go back a few weeks, you will encounter the release of that $200 PC from Wal-Mart. I do have some qualms about gOS, but I’ll save that for another post. The system itself is solid, and it will help people enter the digital age with little impact on their budget. The only problem I foresee with such a system is that the ineptness of the consumer will create a help desk nightmare. Say someone goes out to buy Microsoft Office for their brand-new PC. Guess what, it won’t work since it’s not Windows that’s installed, it’s Linux. I personally know plenty of people who don’t know what an Operating System is, and would be completely pissed off when they realize they can’t install a piece of software that they just paid $400+ for. Seeing how this is a budget PC though (which comes with OpenOffice preinstalled), most people who are buying the PC won’t go out and pay twice as much of the cost of the PC on a single piece of software.

No recap would be complete this year without a mention of Apple, Inc. From new iPods, to the iPhone, to Leopard, Apple has made a major play in the tech market. It’s been covered ad-nausea in the media, so I won’t repeat what they’ve already said. I’ll just say that they all look cool, and if I had the money, I would buy them.

Google has also been doing fairly well this year. With the recent release of its Android mobile platform and breaking $600 a share, it’s looking up at the Googleplex. Google hasn’t been immune to all attacks though. From their attempted buyout of DoubleClick, to take-down notices from the studios against YouTube, and Gmail exploits (partly due to a jar exploit in Firefox, which is supposed to be fixed in 2.0.10), no one can say it’s been easy-going.

On the security side of technology and the web, we have the Storm botnet. The botnet is estimated to be really freakin’ huge (that’s just an estimate) and can DDos sites and take down entire networks, all with a single click. The main problem is that people are curious. They are also inherently stupid. When guys, in particular, see an image that says click the bunny to see what’s behind it, nothing with stop them from clicking that goddamn bunny.

Going to the gaming division, we had a few big announcements this year. The big games were Halo 3 and Bioshock. I’ve played both, and I love them. The console battle has clearly been won by the Wii (still can’t find any in stores), but the Xbox 360 also turned out well. The PS3 has suffered from over-engineering and a lack of good games. I have a feeling the PS3 will do better once MGS4 and Haze get released on the system.

So many big events happened this year. If I could, I would cover them all in this blog post, but that would make for headaches and stiff fingers. So until next time, stay classy Internet.

About this entry